One week down. 

This week has been something else.

This city is crazy. I’ve come a long way since the beginning of the week, though. I most enjoy exploring on my own. During my lunch breaks, I like to wander the busy streets of the financial district and discover new spots. I like to walk around like I am a local: crossing crosswalks before the light changes, navigating the labyrinth of one-way streets, and transferring trains at subway stations like a pro. Whichever way I turn, there is something to see, do, or explore.

The food! Oh, the food! I had my first New York pie (pizza) this weekend from Brooklyn’s own Pizza Plus. I’ve also discovered the best macarons ever at Financier Patisserie. And Park Slope’s Naidre’s Cafe has the most delicious carrot cake I’ve tasted. My poor Instagram followers have had to endure my incessant food pictures lately. So far, no complaints, though.

I’m still working on acclimatizing. The humidity is insane. And, I’m told it’s only going to get hotter and more humid. Lord, help me.

Image

Woolworth Building (aka, my classroom building)

So, now to the actual reason why I’m here.

This NYU Publishing Institute is no joke. It has been challenging and exciting at the same time. They really know how to push us to our limits. I understand that it’ll be for our good. And they want to pack as much as they can into the 6 short weeks of the program. Anyways, I’m exhausted.

As I mentioned before, we got pre-assigned magazine genre groups. Well, we also got pre-assigned roles within our magazines. And I got the role of Managing Editor (of the Business/Finance Mag). Basically, I am the organizer. In addition to helping the Editor-in-Chief with some ancillary tasks, I keep a detailed schedule for everyone on the team and I keep them on their toes to have everything in on time. Ideally, we’d like to go to print 2 days before launch so that we can edit and practice our launch presentation beforehand.

In the 2.5 short weeks we have until we launch, we have to create a brand on several platforms: print, website, tablet, mobile, and a customized app. We also have to create a detailed business plan with a 3 year profit-and-loss statement, a social media presence, a media kit, a mission statement, an advertising plan, planned hypothetical launch events, and a mockup of an email newsletter.

And, in the meantime, we also attend class, listen to guest speakers, sit in on workshops, and brush up on our digital skills.

With 12 people in the group, we can get it all done. But it’s going to be very labor-intensive.

 

What is my favorite part? Hearing from some amazing people in the magazine industry. Names like:

Pilar Guzman; Editor-in-Chief, Condé Nast Traveler

Michael Clinton; President, Marketing Publishing Director, Hearst Magazines 

Jon Gluck; Managing Editor, Vogue

Alison Brower; Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Oz The Good Life Magazine 

Lavinel Savu; Assistant Managing Editor, InStyle Magazine

Yulia Boyle; Senior Vice President, International Publishing, National Geographic Society 

David Curcurito; Design Director, Esquire Magazine

 

Oh my goodness. This is just the tip of the iceberg.

 

And, each day, we get a slew of magazines to keep, analyze and study. Me gusta.

IMG_2296

 

Anyways, that’s it for now.

Here’s to another busy but exciting week.

Standard

Leave a Reply

